15 October 2019News

ACIL elects chairman, officers and board members

The American Council of Life Insurers (ACLI) has elected its chairman, officers and board of directors at its 2019 annual conference.

Dan Houston, the chairman, president and CEO of Principal Financial Group, was elected ACLI chairman for the next year, succeeding JoAnn Martin, CEO of Ameritas Mutual Holding Company, who will serve as ACLI immediate past chair in 2020.

Neely described Houston as “a visionary leader and a passionate advocate for solutions that help families address their financial and retirement security needs."

ACLI also named Ted Mathas, chairman and CEO of New York Life, as chairman-elect, taking up his post in October 2020. ACLI's chairman-elect designate post was awarded to J. Scott Davison, chairman, president and CEO of OneAmerica Financial Partners. He becomes ACLI chairman in October 2021.

ACLI’s board of directors through 2020 comprises: John Barrett, chairman, president and CEO of Western and Southern Financial; Gary Bhojwani, CEO at CNO Financial; John Carter, president and COO at Nationwide Financial; Esfand Dinshaw, chairman and CEO at Sammons Financial Group; Mark Haydukovich, chairman, president and CEO at Oxford Life insurance Company; Joseph Monk, senior vice president of financial services and president and CEO at State Farm Federal Savings Bank, State Farm Insurance Companies; Ramy Tadros, president of US business at MetLife; William Wheeler, president at Athene; and John Woerner, president of insurance and annuities and chief strategy officer at Ameriprise Financial..

The ACLI board of directors through 2021 includes: Marianne Harrison, president and CEO at John Hancock Life Insurance Company; Thomas Leonardi, vice chairman of AIG Life Holdings; James Morris, chairman, president and CEO at Pacific Life Insurance Company; Deanna Mulligan, president and CEO at The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America; Paul Quaranto, chairman, CEO and president at Boston Mutual Life Insurance Company; John Schlifske, chairman, president and CEO at The Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company; Neil Sprackling, president of US business at Swiss Re America Holding; and Eric Steigerwalt, CEO at Brighthouse Financial.

Through 2020 the ACLI board of directors includes: James Hohmann, chairman and CEO at Fidelity Life; Michael Falcon, CEO at Jackson National Life Insurance Company; Roger Ferguson, president and CEO at TIAA; Mary Jane Fortin, president at Allstate Life; Dennis Glass, president and CEO at Lincoln Financial Group; Margaret Meister, president and CEO at Symetra Financial; Teresa Rasmussen, president and CEO at Thrivent Financial; Peter Schaefer, CEO at Hannover Re; and Walter White, president and CEO at Allianz Life Insurance Company of North America.

ACLI's member companies serve the financial and retirement needs of 90 million American families. The chairman and board of directors lead the association and develop policy.