8 December 2015News

Ironshore to expand in Continental Europe

Insurance broker Ironshore International has announced an expansion strategy to establish a locally-driven presence in selected Continental European markets.

The broker is opening a Continental European hub branch office in Cologne, with additional agency branch offices being launched in Rotterdam and Zurich by the end of 2015.

Ronan Gerety, formerly one of the founding managing directors of Catlin Europe SE, has been appointed as director and will become the local head of Ironshore’s Continental European business activities.

Fiona Marry, chief executive officer of Ironshore Europe, said that Ironshore will continue to broaden its geographic reach by establishing offices across Continental Europe as opportunities arise.

Ironshore Agency will be underwriting coverage on behalf of Ironshore Europe and Ironshore’s Pembroke Lloyd’s Syndicate as regulatory approvals are finalised.

Ironshore will be providing specialty insurance lines to initially include, general liability/professional lines, marine, construction/engineering, terrorism, fine art and specie, as well as selected property coverage.

“The current wave of consolidation sweeping the insurance industry has brought about disruption and uncertainty for Continental European buyers, many of whom are continuing to demand a localised approach to underwriting and assurance of reliable, long-term capacity,” said Mark Wheeler, CEO of Ironshore International.

“Ironshore’s European growth initiative builds upon our international strategy of delivering Ironshore specialty portfolio offerings with local jurisdiction expertise, decision making and leadership.”

Ironshore International offices are located in selected financial markets within Canada, Europe, the UK and various business centres throughout Asia-Pacific regions.

In addition, through its Lloyd’s Syndicate 4000, Ironshore International has the authority to offer capacity in other regions worldwide such as Latin America, the Caribbean and the United States.